Document extending a partition on LVM in LVM
authorMichael Prokop <mika@grml.org>
Sun, 6 May 2012 22:17:10 +0000 (00:17 +0200)
committerMichael Prokop <mika@grml.org>
Sun, 6 May 2012 22:18:14 +0000 (00:18 +0200)
Thanks to formorer for initial docs + feedback

jenkins.asciidoc

index ac179a3..8530d11 100644 (file)
@@ -209,3 +209,23 @@ cowbuilder & CO to Debian/wheezy:
   EOF
 
   apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade
+
+
+How to extend a partition on LVM in LVM
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+
+The safe approach:
+
+  klaus:   shutdown jenkins
+  klaus:   lvextend -L+5G /dev/mapper/vg0-jenkins--system
+  klaus:   virsh start jenkins
+  jenkins: create new partition in free space
+  jenkins: reboot
+  jenkins: pvcreate /dev/vda3
+  jenkins: vgextend jenkins /dev/vda3
+  jenkins: lvextend -L+3G /dev/jenkins/root
+  jenkins: resize2fs /dev/jenkins/root
+
+Or instead of creating the new partition use parted to note the partition start,
+then delete the partition and re-create it with previous partition start and new
+partition end.