kantan.git
7 years agoUse live-media-path=/live/grml64/ as default live-media-path master
Michael Prokop [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 12:50:06 +0000 (13:50 +0100)]
Use live-media-path=/live/grml64/ as default live-media-path

The moved /live/*.squashfs of the latest release really bites us.

7 years agoSupport vmlinuz and initrd.img as kernel/initrd files as used on recent Grml ISOs
Michael Prokop [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 12:27:51 +0000 (13:27 +0100)]
Support vmlinuz and initrd.img as kernel/initrd files as used on recent Grml ISOs

7 years agoFix typo in vde_switch socket message
Michael Prokop [Tue, 3 Jan 2012 17:23:38 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
Fix typo in vde_switch socket message

7 years agosupport vmname in monitor socket name for server and client + do not fail if unset
Michael Prokop [Tue, 3 Jan 2012 17:21:22 +0000 (18:21 +0100)]
support vmname in monitor socket name for server and client + do not fail if unset

7 years agoread client.cfg by default in client mode if vmname is unset
Michael Prokop [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 10:04:29 +0000 (11:04 +0100)]
read client.cfg by default in client mode if vmname is unset

7 years agoerror out if specified iso file can not be read
Michael Prokop [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 10:04:09 +0000 (11:04 +0100)]
error out if specified iso file can not be read

7 years agoprovide debug output
Michael Prokop [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 10:20:08 +0000 (11:20 +0100)]
provide debug output

7 years agoinitial client.cfg configuration file
Michael Prokop [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 09:50:50 +0000 (10:50 +0100)]
initial client.cfg configuration file

7 years agorename CLIENT_MEMORY config to MEMORY
Michael Prokop [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 09:50:26 +0000 (10:50 +0100)]
rename CLIENT_MEMORY config to MEMORY

make sure the *.cfg configs of server and client support the same options

7 years agorename KVMSERVER_APPEND to KERNEL_CMDLINE, support KERNEL_APPEND, support --name...
Michael Prokop [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 10:18:58 +0000 (11:18 +0100)]
rename KVMSERVER_APPEND to KERNEL_CMDLINE, support KERNEL_APPEND, support --name in all modes

make sure we properly support it on the cmdline

7 years agosupport --no-console option to disable interactive prompt
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 21:18:47 +0000 (22:18 +0100)]
support --no-console option to disable interactive prompt

7 years agouse termination_status.txt file in profile directory to signal terminated VM
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 20:42:30 +0000 (21:42 +0100)]
use termination_status.txt file in profile directory to signal terminated VM

7 years agodrop usecases document
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 19:50:42 +0000 (20:50 +0100)]
drop usecases document

7 years agoimprove usage information
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 19:49:43 +0000 (20:49 +0100)]
improve usage information

7 years agodrop ipxe ISO, kvm supports PXE boot out of the box
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 19:29:27 +0000 (20:29 +0100)]
drop ipxe ISO, kvm supports PXE boot out of the box

7 years agoslightly rework README
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 19:16:24 +0000 (20:16 +0100)]
slightly rework README

7 years agodo not restrict socat listen port to ipv4 only
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 15:26:16 +0000 (16:26 +0100)]
do not restrict socat listen port to ipv4 only

7 years agodisable vnc by default, display instructions for enabling instead
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 15:14:20 +0000 (16:14 +0100)]
disable vnc by default, display instructions for enabling instead

thanks to the new monitor feature we don't have to make
port 5900 open to the public by default

7 years agocheck boot directory only for server part
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 15:13:48 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
check boot directory only for server part

7 years agoassume default clientname
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 15:13:27 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
assume default clientname

7 years agoexample netscript: do not error out if killing dhclient fails
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 12:37:11 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
example netscript: do not error out if killing dhclient fails

7 years agocheck for existence of provided disk command line argument
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 12:34:39 +0000 (13:34 +0100)]
check for existence of provided disk command line argument

7 years agofix check for CLIENT_ISO
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 12:25:15 +0000 (13:25 +0100)]
fix check for CLIENT_ISO

7 years agoimplement monitor support
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 12:24:34 +0000 (13:24 +0100)]
implement monitor support

while at it don't use /tmp/kantan_share for sharing, but
the profile directory instead

7 years agoredesign command line handling
Michael Prokop [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 12:14:38 +0000 (13:14 +0100)]
redesign command line handling

7 years agoclean up when exiting via termination procedure, fix tmpfile cleanup
Michael Prokop [Mon, 31 Oct 2011 23:37:05 +0000 (00:37 +0100)]
clean up  when exiting via termination procedure, fix tmpfile cleanup

7 years agosupport termination secrect to shut down kantan process
Michael Prokop [Mon, 31 Oct 2011 23:17:55 +0000 (00:17 +0100)]
support termination secrect to shut down kantan process

Setting KANTAN_TERMINATE_SECRECT secret inside server.cf
allows shutting down the kantan process from inside the KVM.
This is useful if you want to run kantan inside continous
integration suites just on purpose and in automated fashion.

7 years agoinitial profile support
Michael Prokop [Mon, 31 Oct 2011 22:10:48 +0000 (23:10 +0100)]
initial profile support

8 years agoadd server post-start hook
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 10 May 2011 13:13:56 +0000 (15:13 +0200)]
add server post-start hook

8 years agoAllow slashes in DEBIAN_MIRROR and use it on server
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 10 May 2011 13:10:29 +0000 (15:10 +0200)]
Allow slashes in DEBIAN_MIRROR and use it on server

8 years agoUpdate TODO list.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 19 Apr 2011 16:52:40 +0000 (18:52 +0200)]
Update TODO list.

8 years agoUpdate TODO list.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 19 Apr 2011 16:50:19 +0000 (18:50 +0200)]
Update TODO list.

8 years agoUpdate TODO list.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 19 Apr 2011 16:47:30 +0000 (18:47 +0200)]
Update TODO list.

8 years agoUpdate TODO list.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 19 Apr 2011 16:45:37 +0000 (18:45 +0200)]
Update TODO list.

8 years agodoc: Add AMD Tapper to tools.
Michael Prokop [Mon, 18 Apr 2011 13:30:08 +0000 (15:30 +0200)]
doc: Add AMD Tapper to tools.

8 years agoRelease new version 0.0.2. v0.0.2
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 18:02:46 +0000 (20:02 +0200)]
Release new version 0.0.2.

Signed-off-by: Michael Prokop <mika@grml.org>
8 years agonetscript: use ext4 instead of ext3.
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 13:28:05 +0000 (15:28 +0200)]
netscript: use ext4 instead of ext3.

8 years agonetscript: mount /srv with noatime.
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 13:27:48 +0000 (15:27 +0200)]
netscript: mount /srv with noatime.

8 years agofai.conf: use simple examples from 3.4 stable branch as default for commented FAI_CON...
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 11:43:56 +0000 (13:43 +0200)]
fai.conf: use simple examples from 3.4 stable branch as default for commented FAI_CONFIG_SRC example.

8 years agonetscript: do not write fai.conf but run fai-chboot with configspace URL instead.
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 11:31:19 +0000 (13:31 +0200)]
netscript: do not write fai.conf but run fai-chboot with configspace URL instead.

8 years agonetscript: execute ifdown eth1 and kill dhclient of eth1 before restarting network.
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 11:00:52 +0000 (13:00 +0200)]
netscript: execute ifdown eth1 and kill dhclient of eth1 before restarting network.

If we don't explicitely bring down the eth1 device dhclient will
still listen on the device, which might result in a non-working
server setup. Be 100% sure that it isn't running using 'kill'.

8 years agoRename $ISO_MOUNT into $ISO_DIR as argument for mountpoint doesn't need to be a real...
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 10:27:18 +0000 (12:27 +0200)]
Rename $ISO_MOUNT into $ISO_DIR as argument for mountpoint doesn't need to be a real mountpoint.

The last argument in the kantan server commandline does not need
to be a mountpoint.  It's fine if the specified directory
includes kernel and initrd inside a directory named /boot.
Mention this fact in the documentation and accordingly rename
variable $ISO_MOUNT into $ISO_DIR.

8 years agonetscript: restart nfs-kernel-server and rpcbind once again, otherwise mounting fails...
Michael Prokop [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 09:43:28 +0000 (11:43 +0200)]
netscript: restart nfs-kernel-server and rpcbind once again, otherwise mounting fails from outside.

Check whether rcpinfo works, otherwise restart rpcbind/portmap again.
Also check using showmount for working nfs-kernel-server, otherwise
restart it.

8 years agonetscript: try running aptitude update up to 10 times with 5 seconds break in between.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 14 Apr 2011 17:57:06 +0000 (19:57 +0200)]
netscript: try running aptitude update up to 10 times with 5 seconds break in between.

Network access might not work yet while netscript.sh is running,
so be more patient when running 'aptitude update'.

8 years agoRemove gpxe and use ipxe instead.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 14 Apr 2011 17:06:00 +0000 (19:06 +0200)]
Remove gpxe and use ipxe instead.

8 years agoDo not use e1000 as driver for KVM but virtio instead.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 14 Apr 2011 10:57:19 +0000 (12:57 +0200)]
Do not use e1000 as driver for KVM but virtio instead.

The virtio driver has much better performance.

8 years agoDo not depend on portmap so nfs-kernel-server is installable in Debian/sid.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 14 Apr 2011 10:54:58 +0000 (12:54 +0200)]
Do not depend on portmap so nfs-kernel-server is installable in Debian/sid.

nfs-kernel-server depends on nfs-common which depends on portmap | rpcbind.
As portmap conflicts with rpcbind this might lead into a situation where
nfs-kernel-server can't be installed.

While at it also support /etc/init.d/rpcbind as alternative to portmap.

Thanks to Thomas Lange for reporting.

8 years agoProvide information how to run screen for serial console in startup message.
Michael Prokop [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 16:54:16 +0000 (17:54 +0100)]
Provide information how to run screen for serial console in startup message.

8 years agoDo not completely randomize MAC address, use 00:0c:29 for first three bytes to be...
Michael Prokop [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 16:16:11 +0000 (17:16 +0100)]
Do not completely randomize MAC address, use 00:0c:29 for first three bytes to be ignored by udev's 75-persistent-net-generator.rules.

To avoid generation of persistent NIC device names in udev's configuration
accross reboots let's assign a MAC address that's known to be ignored by
/lib/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules - therefore
always start mac address with 00:0c:29 and randomize just the last three
bytes of the 6 bytes/48 bits.

8 years agoUse different IP address for bridge interface.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 9 Dec 2010 17:39:11 +0000 (18:39 +0100)]
Use different IP address for bridge interface.

8 years agoREADME: Rewrap lines
Michael Prokop [Wed, 8 Dec 2010 12:03:42 +0000 (13:03 +0100)]
README: Rewrap lines

8 years agoAdd initial README
Michael Prokop [Wed, 8 Dec 2010 12:02:33 +0000 (13:02 +0100)]
Add initial README

8 years agoDisable server configs by default and assume defaults in script instead. Rename ...
Michael Prokop [Tue, 7 Dec 2010 13:17:02 +0000 (14:17 +0100)]
Disable server configs by default and assume defaults in script instead. Rename $APPEND to $KVMSERVER_APPEND + support overriding it through env.

8 years agoAdd doc/usecases.txt to document design ideas.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 7 Dec 2010 13:04:51 +0000 (14:04 +0100)]
Add doc/usecases.txt to document design ideas.

8 years agoSupport tap devices for use with physical machines as clients.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 7 Dec 2010 13:04:32 +0000 (14:04 +0100)]
Support tap devices for use with physical machines as clients.

8 years agoUse isc-dhcp-server by default and fallback to dhcp3-server instead of the other...
Michael Prokop [Tue, 7 Dec 2010 12:17:26 +0000 (13:17 +0100)]
Use isc-dhcp-server by default and fallback to dhcp3-server instead of the other way.

8 years agoAdd check for presence of dpkg-scanpackages and add dpkg-dev to Suggests.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 2 Dec 2010 10:34:24 +0000 (11:34 +0100)]
Add check for presence of dpkg-scanpackages and add dpkg-dev to Suggests.

8 years agodoc: Update references/URLs
Michael Prokop [Fri, 29 Oct 2010 15:49:18 +0000 (17:49 +0200)]
doc: Update references/URLs

8 years agoRelease new version 0.0.1. v0.0.1
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 15:50:19 +0000 (17:50 +0200)]
Release new version 0.0.1.

8 years agoUpdate docs.
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 16:05:22 +0000 (18:05 +0200)]
Update docs.

8 years agoSupport additional KVM args for client, minor bugfixes, documentation updates...
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 15:49:15 +0000 (17:49 +0200)]
Support additional KVM args for client, minor bugfixes, documentation updates...

8 years agoAdd xautomation to docs
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 11:45:26 +0000 (13:45 +0200)]
Add xautomation to docs

8 years agoSupport setting FAI_CONFIG_SRC; fix FAI_MIRROR ip address
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 11:32:53 +0000 (13:32 +0200)]
Support setting FAI_CONFIG_SRC; fix FAI_MIRROR ip address

8 years agoAdd cu and xtightvncviewer to Suggests, update todo list
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 10:56:03 +0000 (12:56 +0200)]
Add cu and xtightvncviewer to Suggests, update todo list

8 years agoRename /etc/kantan/kvm_server.cfg to /etc/kantan/server.cfg; use CLIENT_MEMORY for...
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 10:50:42 +0000 (12:50 +0200)]
Rename /etc/kantan/kvm_server.cfg to /etc/kantan/server.cfg; use CLIENT_MEMORY for client.

8 years agoSupport software selection through fai.conf.
Michael Prokop [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 10:42:30 +0000 (12:42 +0200)]
Support software selection through fai.conf.

8 years agoSupport atftpd, use default host instead of demohost, improve documentation,...
Michael Prokop [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 23:22:28 +0000 (01:22 +0200)]
Support atftpd, use default host instead of demohost, improve documentation,...

8 years agoRework network configuration using vde_switch (thanks to Ulrich Dangel)
Michael Prokop [Fri, 22 Oct 2010 13:45:13 +0000 (15:45 +0200)]
Rework network configuration using vde_switch (thanks to Ulrich Dangel)

8 years agoUpdate docs
Michael Prokop [Fri, 22 Oct 2010 01:27:15 +0000 (03:27 +0200)]
Update docs

8 years agoInitial version.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 19 Oct 2010 18:58:43 +0000 (20:58 +0200)]
Initial version.

8 years agoinitial checkin
Michael Prokop [Tue, 19 Oct 2010 18:57:20 +0000 (20:57 +0200)]
initial checkin