Github action: do not install virtualenv + python3-setuptools master
authorMichael Prokop <mika@grml.org>
Sat, 24 Apr 2021 20:19:12 +0000 (22:19 +0200)
committerMichael Prokop <mika@grml.org>
Sat, 24 Apr 2021 20:20:26 +0000 (22:20 +0200)
pip3 and python3-setuptools are available out of the box on
ubuntu-latest.  By not having to install python3-virtualenv we gain ~6
seconds in each of of the codecheck and unit tests runs. So instead
let's rely on system wide pip3, given that we're running in a throw-away
VM anyway.

Thanks: Chris Hofstaedtler

.github/workflows/check-full.yml

index 91d5ab6..4536d0f 100644 (file)
@@ -15,15 +15,6 @@ jobs:
       - name: Checkout source
         uses: actions/checkout@v2
 
-      - name: Install virtualenv + python3-setuptools
-        run: sudo apt-get install virtualenv python3-setuptools
-
-      - name: Set up Python virtualenv environment
-        run: virtualenv -p /usr/bin/python3 venv3
-
-      - name: Activate Python virtualenv environment
-        run: . ./venv3/bin/activate
-
       - name: pip install wheel (to make install black work)
         run: pip3 install wheel
 
@@ -41,15 +32,6 @@ jobs:
       - name: Checkout source
         uses: actions/checkout@v2
 
-      - name: Install virtualenv + python3-setuptools
-        run: sudo apt-get install virtualenv python3-setuptools
-
-      - name: Set up Python virtualenv environment
-        run: virtualenv -p /usr/bin/python3 venv3
-
-      - name: Activate Python virtualenv environment
-        run: . ./venv3/bin/activate
-
       - name: Install pytest
         run: pip3 install pytest