grml2usb.git
8 years agopep8 cleanups
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 00:42:44 +0000 (02:42 +0200)]
pep8 cleanups

8 years agoDrop oudated tarball-online make target and support prepare-release instead
Michael Prokop [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 15:56:10 +0000 (17:56 +0200)]
Drop oudated tarball-online make target and support prepare-release instead

8 years agofix manpage markup
Evgeni Golov [Wed, 25 Apr 2012 14:52:35 +0000 (16:52 +0200)]
fix manpage markup

- single dashes don't need to be escaped
- * has to apear directly after the string

8 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.3
Michael Prokop [Wed, 25 Apr 2012 14:49:36 +0000 (16:49 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.3

8 years agoRebuild loopback.cfg with present configuration files
Michael Prokop [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 16:02:35 +0000 (17:02 +0100)]
Rebuild loopback.cfg with present configuration files

Related to grml-live's recent commit titled "Generate static
loopback.cfg configuration without depending on GRUB's regexp
module" (94a9b17) to address the regexp issue of Debian/squeeze's
GRUB.

8 years agogrml2iso: use shell for calculation instead of using bc
Michael Prokop [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 22:14:38 +0000 (23:14 +0100)]
grml2iso: use shell for calculation instead of using bc

We are lacking a dependency on bc but there shouldn't be any
reason why we'd have to use bc to calculate the cylinder foo,
so let's just use the internal shell mechanism.

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.6 v0.11.6
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 11:34:18 +0000 (12:34 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.6

8 years agoSupport template parameters in overlay directory. For now only mru/grml2iso-templates
Ulrich Dangel [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 01:49:23 +0000 (02:49 +0100)]
Support template parameters in overlay directory. For now only
GRML_NAME, VERSION RELEASENAME DATE SHORT_NAME RELEASE_INFO and BOOTID are
supported.

As in grml-live grml2iso supports template filename as well which you will need
for modifying file entries.

8 years agoCanonicalize overlay directory
Ulrich Dangel [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 02:52:56 +0000 (03:52 +0100)]
Canonicalize overlay directory

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.5 v0.11.5
Michael Prokop [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 15:12:40 +0000 (16:12 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.5

8 years agoOnly modify live-media-path for current flavour
Ulrich Dangel [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 12:04:03 +0000 (13:04 +0100)]
Only modify live-media-path for current flavour

8 years agoStreamline grml_flavour modification
Ulrich Dangel [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 17:34:17 +0000 (18:34 +0100)]
Streamline grml_flavour modification

8 years agoModify grub config files for the specified flavour instead of all grub config files
Ulrich Dangel [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 17:12:49 +0000 (18:12 +0100)]
Modify grub config files for the specified flavour instead of all grub config files

8 years agoSupport multiple flavours on a cd
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 11:53:46 +0000 (12:53 +0100)]
Support multiple flavours on a cd

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.4 v0.11.4
Michael Prokop [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 15:38:04 +0000 (16:38 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.4

8 years agoMake sure we don't fail in device check when using /dev/disk-by-label/*
Michael Prokop [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 13:52:55 +0000 (14:52 +0100)]
Make sure we don't fail in device check when using /dev/disk-by-label/*

Quoting Bernhard on IRC:

| i usually use ~by-label/<mysticksname> as device names, so that
| I don't mix up any /dev/sd?? devices and I just realized that
| when i do this (of course I can use ~bylabel/<mysticksname>(:A)
| in the future) grml2usb does neither recognize that my device is
| already mounted (not much of a problem with current kernel
| apparently), but the "superdisk" check which just looks for a
| digit in the last char of the device string, fails as well

Thanks: Bernhard Tittelbach for bugreport and patch

8 years agoCopy complete Grml flavour directory instead of explicit specifing files
Ulrich Dangel [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 00:38:37 +0000 (01:38 +0100)]
Copy complete Grml flavour directory instead of explicit specifing files

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.3 v0.11.3
Michael Prokop [Thu, 22 Dec 2011 22:55:43 +0000 (23:55 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.3

8 years agoLoad loop kernel module [Closes: issue1097]
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 22 Dec 2011 00:41:50 +0000 (01:41 +0100)]
Load loop kernel module [Closes: issue1097]

8 years agoWarn that older versions can't do multi-flavour grub
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 15:25:56 +0000 (16:25 +0100)]
Warn that older versions can't do multi-flavour grub

8 years agoUse grub config from ISO instead of writing a new one
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 03:08:12 +0000 (04:08 +0100)]
Use grub config from ISO instead of writing a new one

8 years agoMimic /boot/%SHORT_NAME% like on the ISO
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 03:25:12 +0000 (04:25 +0100)]
Mimic /boot/%SHORT_NAME% like on the ISO

8 years agoFix typo
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 13:41:17 +0000 (14:41 +0100)]
Fix typo

8 years agoFix add/remove bootoptions with new kernel/initrd names
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 02:41:56 +0000 (03:41 +0100)]
Fix add/remove bootoptions with new kernel/initrd names

8 years agoAdd support for new kernel/initrd filenames
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 19 Dec 2011 16:56:55 +0000 (17:56 +0100)]
Add support for new kernel/initrd filenames

8 years agoCleanup grub.cfg install logic
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 19 Dec 2011 15:37:03 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
Cleanup grub.cfg install logic

8 years agoRemove hardcoded version from grml2usb
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 19 Dec 2011 14:03:01 +0000 (15:03 +0100)]
Remove hardcoded version from grml2usb

8 years agoUse grub splash image from ISO
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 19 Dec 2011 13:46:39 +0000 (14:46 +0100)]
Use grub splash image from ISO

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.2 v0.11.2
Michael Prokop [Thu, 15 Dec 2011 13:36:28 +0000 (14:36 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.2

8 years agoadd UEFI boot support to grml2iso
Michael Prokop [Thu, 15 Dec 2011 13:17:36 +0000 (14:17 +0100)]
add UEFI boot support to grml2iso

8 years agoRemove failsafe boot menu entry
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 12 Dec 2011 19:35:06 +0000 (20:35 +0100)]
Remove failsafe boot menu entry

8 years agoRemove 'quiet' from standard boot options
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 12 Dec 2011 19:34:44 +0000 (20:34 +0100)]
Remove 'quiet' from standard boot options

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.1 v0.11.1
Michael Prokop [Sun, 11 Dec 2011 20:28:31 +0000 (21:28 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.1

8 years agosync grub.cfg menu entries with grml-live templates
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sun, 11 Dec 2011 02:46:58 +0000 (03:46 +0100)]
sync grub.cfg menu entries with grml-live templates

8 years agoAdd nokms option to grub menu
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sun, 11 Dec 2011 02:41:19 +0000 (03:41 +0100)]
Add nokms option to grub menu

8 years agoRelease new version 0.11.0 v0.11.0
Michael Prokop [Thu, 8 Dec 2011 14:00:22 +0000 (15:00 +0100)]
Release new version 0.11.0

9 years agoinstall boot files required for [U]EFI boot
Michael Prokop [Sun, 27 Nov 2011 20:22:26 +0000 (21:22 +0100)]
install boot files required for [U]EFI boot

Ack-ed by: Christian Hofstaedtler <ch@grml.org>

9 years agoRelease new version 0.10.2 v0.10.2
Michael Prokop [Sat, 26 Nov 2011 19:30:47 +0000 (20:30 +0100)]
Release new version 0.10.2

9 years agoDisable validation of autogenerated docbook xml
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 13 Oct 2011 17:13:03 +0000 (19:13 +0200)]
Disable validation of autogenerated docbook xml

9 years agoRemove mention of grml2hd
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 17 Nov 2011 09:06:32 +0000 (10:06 +0100)]
Remove mention of grml2hd

9 years agoRelease new version 0.10.1. v0.10.1
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 4 Oct 2011 07:55:59 +0000 (09:55 +0200)]
Release new version 0.10.1.

9 years agoReword/reformat some text in debian/copyright
Christian Hofstaedtler [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 14:27:46 +0000 (16:27 +0200)]
Reword/reformat some text in debian/copyright

9 years agoFix FTBFS on i386: must build arch package in binary-arch
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 4 Oct 2011 07:45:47 +0000 (09:45 +0200)]
Fix FTBFS on i386: must build arch package in binary-arch

9 years agoRelease new version 0.10.0 v0.10.0
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:31:14 +0000 (23:31 +0200)]
Release new version 0.10.0

9 years agoReady debian/control for Debian
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:26:55 +0000 (23:26 +0200)]
Ready debian/control for Debian

9 years agoRelease new version 0.9.35 v0.9.35
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:14:36 +0000 (23:14 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.35

9 years agoUpdate Maintainer/Uploaders to Team
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:03:44 +0000 (23:03 +0200)]
Update Maintainer/Uploaders to Team

Also set DM-Upload-Allowed: yes, even though this doesn't mean
anything for Grml, but see this as a preparation for Debian.

9 years agoSwitch section to admin, from grml
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:02:44 +0000 (23:02 +0200)]
Switch section to admin, from grml

9 years agoUse dh_prep, bump debhelper compat level to 7
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:01:28 +0000 (23:01 +0200)]
Use dh_prep, bump debhelper compat level to 7

9 years agoReformat older NEWS entry, remove the oldest one
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 21:00:01 +0000 (23:00 +0200)]
Reformat older NEWS entry, remove the oldest one

9 years agoAdd NEWS entry for this release
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 20:58:36 +0000 (22:58 +0200)]
Add NEWS entry for this release

9 years agoRemove grml2usb-compat
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 20:57:46 +0000 (22:57 +0200)]
Remove grml2usb-compat

9 years agoRemove static lilo binaries and lilo support
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 20:46:09 +0000 (22:46 +0200)]
Remove static lilo binaries and lilo support

9 years agoNo longer mention mkisofs in debian/control
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 20:57:50 +0000 (22:57 +0200)]
No longer mention mkisofs in debian/control

9 years agoFix debian-rules-missing-recommended-target lintian warning
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 19:55:52 +0000 (21:55 +0200)]
Fix debian-rules-missing-recommended-target lintian warning

9 years agoSet debian/source/format to 3.0 (native)
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 19:50:13 +0000 (21:50 +0200)]
Set debian/source/format to 3.0 (native)

9 years agogrml2iso: fix check for grml2usb
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 19:44:53 +0000 (21:44 +0200)]
grml2iso: fix check for grml2usb

9 years agoMerge branch 'mika/0.9.34'
Michael Prokop [Thu, 18 Aug 2011 16:58:11 +0000 (18:58 +0200)]
Merge branch 'mika/0.9.34'

9 years agoAdd debian/control headers Origin, Bugs
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 27 Jul 2011 19:30:30 +0000 (21:30 +0200)]
Add debian/control headers Origin, Bugs

9 years agoAdd debian/control headers Origin, Bugs
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 27 Jul 2011 19:30:30 +0000 (21:30 +0200)]
Add debian/control headers Origin, Bugs

9 years agoSupport USB keys with superfloppy format
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sat, 23 Jul 2011 20:05:32 +0000 (22:05 +0200)]
Support USB keys with superfloppy format

9 years agoDrop grub1 support
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sat, 23 Jul 2011 20:04:29 +0000 (22:04 +0200)]
Drop grub1 support

9 years agoLoop-mount ISO with read-only option
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sat, 23 Jul 2011 19:16:57 +0000 (21:16 +0200)]
Loop-mount ISO with read-only option

Quiets a mount warning.

9 years agoReleasing new version 0.9.34. v0.9.34
Michael Prokop [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 07:41:34 +0000 (09:41 +0200)]
Releasing new version 0.9.34.

9 years agoFix warning message for missing files.
Michael Prokop [Sun, 10 Jul 2011 23:45:18 +0000 (01:45 +0200)]
Fix warning message for missing files.

9 years agoRelease new version 0.9.33. v0.9.33
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sun, 15 May 2011 22:50:01 +0000 (00:50 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.33.

9 years agoDon't nag users about gpxe.lkrn
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sun, 15 May 2011 22:33:32 +0000 (00:33 +0200)]
Don't nag users about gpxe.lkrn

9 years agoRelease new version 0.9.32. v0.9.32
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 10 May 2011 20:45:54 +0000 (22:45 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.32.

9 years agoUpdate debian/overrides for newer lintian versions
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 10 May 2011 20:45:02 +0000 (22:45 +0200)]
Update debian/overrides for newer lintian versions

9 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.2
Christian Hofstaedtler [Tue, 10 May 2011 20:44:53 +0000 (22:44 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.2

9 years agoAdd pyflakes to codecheck.
Michael Prokop [Thu, 5 May 2011 23:50:41 +0000 (01:50 +0200)]
Add pyflakes to codecheck.

9 years agoSupport iPXE as new alternative for gPXE.
Michael Prokop [Wed, 20 Apr 2011 09:04:56 +0000 (11:04 +0200)]
Support iPXE as new alternative for gPXE.

9 years agoadd an FAQ regarding to HDT hangs [Closes: issue976]
Christian Hofstaedtler [Sun, 20 Mar 2011 23:44:23 +0000 (00:44 +0100)]
add an FAQ regarding to HDT hangs [Closes: issue976]

9 years agoRelease new version 0.9.31. v0.9.31
Michael Prokop [Mon, 14 Feb 2011 09:40:22 +0000 (10:40 +0100)]
Release new version 0.9.31.

9 years agoTypo fixes and minor formating corrections.
Michael Prokop [Mon, 14 Feb 2011 09:37:08 +0000 (10:37 +0100)]
Typo fixes and minor formating corrections.

9 years agoSupport generating small iso images with grml2iso.
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 12 Feb 2011 14:31:18 +0000 (15:31 +0100)]
Support generating small iso images with grml2iso.

Debian-live supports downloading the squashfs file from remote location.
That means it is possible to create small iso images which downloads the
squashfs file from a remote location.

9 years agoAllow multiple --bootoptions for grml2usb. This makes scripting a lot easier.
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 12 Feb 2011 12:40:21 +0000 (13:40 +0100)]
Allow multiple --bootoptions for grml2usb. This makes scripting a lot easier.

9 years agoSupport arbitrary grml2usb options in grml2iso
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 12 Feb 2011 13:58:21 +0000 (14:58 +0100)]
Support arbitrary grml2usb options in grml2iso

9 years agoPrint warning if grml2usb is not found in grml2iso.
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 12 Feb 2011 13:33:07 +0000 (14:33 +0100)]
Print warning if grml2usb is not found in grml2iso.

Added helper message for running grml2iso from the source tree.

9 years agoSupport mkisofs or genisoimage in grml2iso. Updated debian/control
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 12 Feb 2011 13:30:24 +0000 (14:30 +0100)]
Support mkisofs or genisoimage in grml2iso. Updated debian/control

9 years agoRelease new version 0.9.30. v0.9.30
Michael Prokop [Sat, 8 Jan 2011 22:12:09 +0000 (23:12 +0100)]
Release new version 0.9.30.

9 years agofix broken grub command terminal_output (should be "terminal_output gfxterm" instead...
Michael Prokop [Sat, 8 Jan 2011 22:08:21 +0000 (23:08 +0100)]
fix broken grub command terminal_output (should be "terminal_output gfxterm" instead of terminal_output.gfxterm)

Thanks: Bert Schulze <spambemyguest@googlemail.com>

10 years agoRelease new version 0.9.29. v0.9.29
Michael Prokop [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 10:18:17 +0000 (11:18 +0100)]
Release new version 0.9.29.

10 years agoRe-add mtools to Depends as they are just suggests of syslinux package
Michael Prokop [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 10:06:11 +0000 (11:06 +0100)]
Re-add mtools to Depends as they are just suggests of syslinux package

Quoting http://bts.grml.org/grml/issue905:

  I'm using grml2usb (0.9.25) from grml repo on a Debian Squeeze system. grml2usb
  fails with the message

  Installing syslinux as bootloader
  sh: mcopy: not found
  syslinux: failed to create ldlinux.sys

  That's because syslinux package in Debian Squezze just 'suggests' mtools·
  package. I filed a Bug in Debian BTS requesting syslinux at least to·
  recommend mtools package but it was closed... (Bug#594331)

Thanks: Michael Gissing
Closes: issue905

10 years agoImprove logging message
Ulrich Dangel [Sat, 13 Nov 2010 21:42:11 +0000 (22:42 +0100)]
Improve logging message

10 years agoUpdate version
Ulrich Dangel [Sun, 7 Nov 2010 22:27:48 +0000 (23:27 +0100)]
Update version

10 years agoAppend new flavours to grml-version, do not only update existing versions
Ulrich Dangel [Sun, 7 Nov 2010 22:25:02 +0000 (23:25 +0100)]
Append new flavours to grml-version, do not only update existing versions

10 years agofix bsd4grml boot (loopback and regular)
Thorsten Glaser [Sun, 15 Aug 2010 16:57:29 +0000 (16:57 +0000)]
fix bsd4grml boot (loopback and regular)

Signed-off-by: Thorsten Glaser <tg@mirbsd.org>
10 years agoThere is no /bin/bash on most operating systems.
Thorsten Glaser [Tue, 24 Nov 2009 17:37:42 +0000 (17:37 +0000)]
There is no /bin/bash on most operating systems.

There is no /bin/bash on most operating systems,
even if GNU bash is installed.

Signed-off-by: Thorsten Glaser <tg@mirbsd.org>
10 years agocorrect a pasto
Thorsten Glaser [Sun, 15 Aug 2010 15:37:31 +0000 (15:37 +0000)]
correct a pasto

Signed-off-by: Thorsten Glaser <tg@mirbsd.org>
10 years agoRelease new version 0.9.28. v0.9.28
Michael Prokop [Tue, 28 Sep 2010 21:58:03 +0000 (23:58 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.28.

10 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.1.
Michael Prokop [Tue, 28 Sep 2010 21:57:01 +0000 (23:57 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.1.

10 years agobsd4grml was not copied correctly to the target device.
Ulrich Dangel [Mon, 20 Sep 2010 13:16:55 +0000 (15:16 +0200)]
bsd4grml was not copied correctly to the target device.

This fixes a bug introduced in commit c70267a9. The problem is that the
bsd4grml addon is a directory and it needs a trailing slash for copying
with rysnc. handle_addon_copy just search for the file and copies it
directly to the target device without adding a slash.

The current fix is to remove the explicit destination filename in
handle_addon_copy.

Thanks to  Alex Mestiashvili for reporting that bug.

10 years agoRun grub-install without and with --force option.
Ulrich Dangel [Mon, 20 Sep 2010 12:56:49 +0000 (14:56 +0200)]
Run grub-install without and with --force option.

10 years agoCopy bootloader files from /usr/lib/syslinux/ [Closes: 894]
Ulrich Dangel [Wed, 18 Aug 2010 13:33:39 +0000 (15:33 +0200)]
Copy bootloader files from /usr/lib/syslinux/ [Closes: 894]

10 years agoproperly update grml-versions when updating a grml flavour
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 18:58:04 +0000 (20:58 +0200)]
properly update grml-versions when updating a grml flavour

Previously, grml-versions would have been only updated when adding a
new grml flavour to the existing target media. This change ensures
that it will also be updated when an existing grml flavour is being
updated.

10 years agoRename variables in update_grml_versions to be less confusing
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 18:58:03 +0000 (20:58 +0200)]
Rename variables in update_grml_versions to be less confusing

New names should be very clear in what they refer to.

10 years agoSome code cleanup
Ulrich Dangel [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 19:22:18 +0000 (21:22 +0200)]
Some code cleanup

10 years agoincrement version
Ulrich Dangel [Thu, 1 Jul 2010 19:22:05 +0000 (21:22 +0200)]
increment version

10 years agoRelease new version 0.9.27. v0.9.27
Michael Prokop [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 11:13:21 +0000 (13:13 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.27.