grml-hwinfo.git
2 months agoRelease new version 0.15.2 master v0.15.2
Michael Prokop [Thu, 11 Jul 2019 15:25:42 +0000 (17:25 +0200)]
Release new version 0.15.2

2 months agoStore cpuid output in file `cpuid`, add cpuid to Recommends
Michael Prokop [Mon, 24 Jun 2019 13:16:58 +0000 (15:16 +0200)]
Store cpuid output in file `cpuid`, add cpuid to Recommends

7 months agoRelease new version 0.15.1 v0.15.1
Michael Prokop [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 12:41:58 +0000 (13:41 +0100)]
Release new version 0.15.1

7 months agoBump Standards-Version to 4.3.0
Michael Prokop [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 12:41:42 +0000 (13:41 +0100)]
Bump Standards-Version to 4.3.0

7 months agoRecord uptime (/proc/uptime in `proc_uptime` and uptime(1) in file `uptime`)
Michael Prokop [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 12:40:24 +0000 (13:40 +0100)]
Record uptime (/proc/uptime in `proc_uptime` and uptime(1) in file `uptime`)

Thanks: Ralf Moll for the suggestion

8 months agoRelease new version 0.15.0 v0.15.0
Michael Prokop [Tue, 15 Jan 2019 09:40:34 +0000 (10:40 +0100)]
Release new version 0.15.0

8 months agoReport SecureBoot state via mokutil
Michael Prokop [Tue, 15 Jan 2019 09:36:01 +0000 (10:36 +0100)]
Report SecureBoot state via mokutil

8 months agoStore "$HOME"/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log (if available) as user_Xorg.0.log
Michael Prokop [Tue, 15 Jan 2019 09:28:03 +0000 (10:28 +0100)]
Store "$HOME"/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log (if available) as user_Xorg.0.log

8 months agoLog output of verbose lsusb run in file lsusb_verbose
Michael Prokop [Tue, 15 Jan 2019 09:27:48 +0000 (10:27 +0100)]
Log output of verbose lsusb run in file lsusb_verbose

8 months agoProvide output of verbose lspci run in file lspci_verbose
Michael Prokop [Tue, 15 Jan 2019 09:27:23 +0000 (10:27 +0100)]
Provide output of verbose lspci run in file lspci_verbose

8 months agoRecommend acpica-tools package and provide acpidump output (as root)
Michael Prokop [Tue, 15 Jan 2019 09:26:48 +0000 (10:26 +0100)]
Recommend acpica-tools package and provide acpidump output (as root)

10 months agoRelease new version 0.14.1 v0.14.1
Michael Prokop [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:15:57 +0000 (21:15 +0100)]
Release new version 0.14.1

10 months agodebian/rules: use /usr/share/dpkg/pkg-info.mk for identifying version number
Michael Prokop [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:14:03 +0000 (21:14 +0100)]
debian/rules: use /usr/share/dpkg/pkg-info.mk for identifying version number

Fixes lintian warning:

| I: grml-hwinfo source: debian-rules-parses-dpkg-parsechangelog (line 12)

10 months agoBump Standards-Version to 4.2.1
Michael Prokop [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:09:13 +0000 (21:09 +0100)]
Bump Standards-Version to 4.2.1

10 months agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/github/pr/2'
Michael Prokop [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:07:16 +0000 (21:07 +0100)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/github/pr/2'

10 months agosysdump: ignore /sys/kernel/security/apparmor/revision to avoid hanging
Darshaka Pathirana [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 17:17:48 +0000 (18:17 +0100)]
sysdump: ignore /sys/kernel/security/apparmor/revision to avoid hanging

Closes: grml/grml-hwinfo#1

10 months agoRelease new version 0.14.0 v0.14.0
Michael Prokop [Wed, 31 Oct 2018 09:18:44 +0000 (10:18 +0100)]
Release new version 0.14.0

10 months agoProvide output of `efibootmgr -v` in file efibootmgr
Michael Prokop [Wed, 31 Oct 2018 09:17:48 +0000 (10:17 +0100)]
Provide output of `efibootmgr -v` in file efibootmgr

This is useful for documenting the present EFI boot entries.

Thanks: Ralf Moll for the suggestion

15 months agoRelease new version 0.13.3 v0.13.3
Michael Prokop [Fri, 25 May 2018 11:54:04 +0000 (13:54 +0200)]
Release new version 0.13.3

15 months agoBump Standards-Version to 4.1.4
Michael Prokop [Fri, 25 May 2018 11:53:45 +0000 (13:53 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 4.1.4

17 months agoRedirect `ip mrule show` errors to ip_mrule.error
Michael Prokop [Tue, 27 Mar 2018 13:29:10 +0000 (15:29 +0200)]
Redirect `ip mrule show` errors to ip_mrule.error

`ip mrule show` depends on CONFIG_IP_MROUTE_MULTIPLE_TABLES
for IPv4 and CONFIG_IPV6_MROUTE_MULTIPLE_TABLES for IPv6,
if either is missing then it fails:

  % ip -6 mrule show
  32767:  from all lookup main
  % ip -4 mrule show
  RTNETLINK answers: Address family not supported by protocol
  Dump terminated
  % ip mrule show
  RTNETLINK answers: Address family not supported by protocol
  Dump terminated

  % grep MROUTE /boot/config-$(uname -r)
  CONFIG_IP_MROUTE=y
  # CONFIG_IP_MROUTE_MULTIPLE_TABLES is not set
  CONFIG_IPV6_MROUTE=y
  CONFIG_IPV6_MROUTE_MULTIPLE_TABLES=y
  % uname -r
  4.13.13-6-pve

Noticed on a customer system running Proxmox kernel,
reported towards upstream: https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1711

2 years agoRelease new version 0.13.2 v0.13.2
Michael Prokop [Fri, 9 Jun 2017 20:26:38 +0000 (22:26 +0200)]
Release new version 0.13.2

2 years agosysdump: ignore files inside /sys/kernel/debug to avoid hanging
Michael Prokop [Fri, 9 Jun 2017 20:08:03 +0000 (22:08 +0200)]
sysdump: ignore files inside /sys/kernel/debug to avoid hanging

There are several files inside /sys/kernel/debug which aren't
safe for cat-ing, like for example
/sys/kernel/debug/hid/0003:80EE:0021.0001/events So ignore all
files inside /sys/kernel/debug to avoid a hanging sysdump
process.

While at it avoid read on already closed file-handle and redirect
error message to stderr if a file can't be opened/read.

Closes grml/grml#55

2 years agoRelease new version 0.13.1 v0.13.1
Michael Prokop [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 09:52:43 +0000 (11:52 +0200)]
Release new version 0.13.1

2 years agoProvide `acpi --everything` output in file `acpi.everything`
Michael Prokop [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 09:51:43 +0000 (11:51 +0200)]
Provide `acpi --everything` output in file `acpi.everything`

2 years agoRelease new version 0.13.0 v0.13.0
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 15:15:05 +0000 (16:15 +0100)]
Release new version 0.13.0

2 years agodebian/rules: replace deprecated dh_clean -k with dh_prep
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 15:14:49 +0000 (16:14 +0100)]
debian/rules: replace deprecated dh_clean -k with dh_prep

2 years agoAdd debian/source/format with 3.0 (native)
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 15:13:37 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
Add debian/source/format with 3.0 (native)

2 years agoBump debian/compat to 9
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 15:13:11 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
Bump debian/compat to 9

2 years agoUse SSL for Homepage + Vcs-Browser URLs
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 15:11:54 +0000 (16:11 +0100)]
Use SSL for Homepage + Vcs-Browser URLs

2 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.8
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 15:11:34 +0000 (16:11 +0100)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.8

3 years agoRedirect hdparm + sg_inq errors to according .error files
Michael Prokop [Mon, 14 Dec 2015 12:25:23 +0000 (13:25 +0100)]
Redirect hdparm + sg_inq errors to according .error files

sg_inq might raise:

Both SCSI INQUIRY and fetching ATA information failed on /dev/vda

and hdparm might raise:

HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(identify) failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
HDIO_GET_IDENTITY failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device

This is annoying when running grml-hwinfo under cron, so
let's redirect this output to their according .error files.

3 years agoRelease new version 0.12.0 v0.12.0
Michael Prokop [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 14:49:00 +0000 (15:49 +0100)]
Release new version 0.12.0

3 years agoDon't use working directory when --output-directory option is used
Michael Prokop [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 14:47:07 +0000 (15:47 +0100)]
Don't use working directory when --output-directory option is used

Otherwise when running something like:

  /root/system-info/grml-hwinfo --output-directory=/root/system-info/grml-hwinfo-data

via cron this store data to /root/root/system-info/grml-hwinfo-data
(instead of the requested /root/system-info/grml-hwinfo-data) since
/root is the working directory for cron.

3 years agoFix shellcheck issue with quoting
Michael Prokop [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 14:20:25 +0000 (15:20 +0100)]
Fix shellcheck issue with quoting

3 years agoImprove local disk detection for recent kernel changes
Michael Prokop [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 14:17:37 +0000 (15:17 +0100)]
Improve local disk detection for recent kernel changes

Based on https://github.com/faiproject/fai/blob/master/lib/fai-disk-info

3 years agoSupport options --force + --quiet for usage with cron
Michael Prokop [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 14:17:19 +0000 (15:17 +0100)]
Support options --force + --quiet for usage with cron

3 years agoRelease new version 0.11.0 v0.11.0
Michael Prokop [Wed, 21 Oct 2015 21:19:50 +0000 (23:19 +0200)]
Release new version 0.11.0

3 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.6
Michael Prokop [Wed, 21 Oct 2015 21:17:13 +0000 (23:17 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.6

3 years agoSave stderr of x86info and discover in *.error instead of *.2
Michael Prokop [Wed, 21 Oct 2015 21:16:15 +0000 (23:16 +0200)]
Save stderr of x86info and discover in *.error instead of *.2

Make those two commands behave as all the other ones
to get consistent behaviour.

3 years agoFix shell scripting issues discovered by shellcheck
Michael Prokop [Wed, 21 Oct 2015 21:14:42 +0000 (23:14 +0200)]
Fix shell scripting issues discovered by shellcheck

3 years agoImprove shell quoting (thanks to shellcheck)
Michael Prokop [Wed, 21 Oct 2015 21:03:08 +0000 (23:03 +0200)]
Improve shell quoting (thanks to shellcheck)

3 years agoip: also store table specific route information
Michael Prokop [Wed, 21 Oct 2015 20:42:10 +0000 (22:42 +0200)]
ip: also store table specific route information

5 years agoRelease new version 0.10.0 v0.10.0
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Sep 2014 04:05:15 +0000 (21:05 -0700)]
Release new version 0.10.0

5 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.5
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Sep 2014 04:04:01 +0000 (21:04 -0700)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.5

5 years agoSupport i2c-tools's decode-dimms
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Sep 2014 04:02:00 +0000 (21:02 -0700)]
Support i2c-tools's decode-dimms

5 years agoSupport edac-utils
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Sep 2014 03:57:43 +0000 (20:57 -0700)]
Support edac-utils

5 years agoSupport mcelog
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Sep 2014 03:46:32 +0000 (20:46 -0700)]
Support mcelog

5 years agoRelease new version 0.9.2 v0.9.2
Michael Prokop [Mon, 3 Feb 2014 15:20:45 +0000 (16:20 +0100)]
Release new version 0.9.2

5 years agoSupport iproute2 as alternative to iproute in Recommends
Michael Prokop [Tue, 8 Oct 2013 13:04:42 +0000 (15:04 +0200)]
Support iproute2 as alternative to iproute in Recommends

iproute is a transitional dummy package for iproute2 nowadays

6 years agoRelease new version 0.9.1 v0.9.1
Michael Prokop [Wed, 14 Aug 2013 11:02:36 +0000 (13:02 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.1

6 years agoUse iproute's ip tool to retrieve all its output
Michael Prokop [Wed, 14 Aug 2013 11:00:11 +0000 (13:00 +0200)]
Use iproute's ip tool to retrieve all its output

6 years agoRelease new version 0.9.0 v0.9.0
Michael Prokop [Tue, 18 Jun 2013 15:21:47 +0000 (17:21 +0200)]
Release new version 0.9.0

6 years agoRead /proc/acpi/info only if the file exists, drop calls to acpi_available
Michael Prokop [Tue, 18 Jun 2013 15:18:48 +0000 (17:18 +0200)]
Read /proc/acpi/info only if the file exists, drop calls to acpi_available

Inside e.g. KVM /proc/acpi/info doesn't exist.

6 years agoAdd support for sg_inq from sg3-utils
Michael Prokop [Tue, 18 Jun 2013 14:44:09 +0000 (16:44 +0200)]
Add support for sg_inq from sg3-utils

6 years agoSupport lscpu, lsblk and dmsetup ls --tree
Michael Prokop [Tue, 14 May 2013 14:31:25 +0000 (16:31 +0200)]
Support lscpu, lsblk and dmsetup ls --tree

Thanks to Michael Renner for triggering this.

6 years agoRelease new version 0.8.0 v0.8.0
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 07:58:21 +0000 (09:58 +0200)]
Release new version 0.8.0

6 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.4
Michael Prokop [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 07:57:47 +0000 (09:57 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.4

6 years agolsscsi: collect transport information in lsscsi_transport
Michael Prokop [Mon, 24 Sep 2012 09:57:05 +0000 (11:57 +0200)]
lsscsi: collect transport information in lsscsi_transport

Example output:

| # lsscsi  -t
| [0:0:0:0]    disk    iqn.2006-01.com.openfiler:tsn.a5dd60798cd3,t,0x1  /dev/sda
| [1:0:0:0]    disk    iqn.2006-01.com.openfiler:tsn.7c1eb1d587d9,t,0x1  /dev/sdb
| [...]

This is useful for getting the mapping between local block device
and iSCSI target names.

7 years agoRetrieve information about SCSI devices using lsscsi
Michael Prokop [Thu, 20 Sep 2012 08:49:31 +0000 (10:49 +0200)]
Retrieve information about SCSI devices using lsscsi

Turns out to be very useful when trying to identify where a
specifc block device is coming from, e.g.:

| # lsscsi
| [0:0:0:0]    disk    OPNFILER VIRTUAL-DISK     0     /dev/sda

Thanks: Christian Hofstaedtler for the hint

7 years agoAdd support retrieving iSCSI information using iscsiadm from open-iscsi
Michael Prokop [Thu, 20 Sep 2012 08:48:43 +0000 (10:48 +0200)]
Add support retrieving iSCSI information using iscsiadm from open-iscsi

7 years agoRelease new version 0.7.0 v0.7.0
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:41:04 +0000 (10:41 +0200)]
Release new version 0.7.0

7 years agoRun tar with --auto-compress for better --output-file support
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:31:17 +0000 (10:31 +0200)]
Run tar with --auto-compress for better --output-file support

7 years agoImprove usage text
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:31:13 +0000 (10:31 +0200)]
Improve usage text

7 years agoRemove only empty *.error files to see which commands have been executed
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:22:11 +0000 (10:22 +0200)]
Remove only empty *.error files to see which commands have been executed

7 years agoRun lspci -nn for lspci output, do not check for /proc/bus/* for lspnp && lsusb comma...
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:22:06 +0000 (10:22 +0200)]
Run lspci -nn for lspci output, do not check for /proc/bus/* for lspnp && lsusb commands but instead just run exectest

7 years agoUnify indention
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:19:00 +0000 (10:19 +0200)]
Unify indention

7 years agoFix formating of disk tools output
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:12:29 +0000 (10:12 +0200)]
Fix formating of disk tools output

7 years agoSupport proxmox/libvirt/openvz/vserver information retrieval
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:08:09 +0000 (10:08 +0200)]
Support proxmox/libvirt/openvz/vserver information retrieval

7 years agoRework cmdline option handling, replacing "-df" with "-b" and adding new options
Michael Prokop [Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:05:40 +0000 (10:05 +0200)]
Rework cmdline option handling, replacing "-df" with "-b" and adding new options

The cmdline option handling totally sucked. While adding new options
like --output-directory and --output-file we have to replace the "-df"
option with "-b"/"--both" because of the way getopt works.

7 years agoRedirect dpkg error message for running_kernel
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:43:25 +0000 (01:43 +0200)]
Redirect dpkg error message for running_kernel

7 years agoRelease new version 0.6.0 v0.6.0
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:32:57 +0000 (01:32 +0200)]
Release new version 0.6.0

7 years agoGet rid of generated files which are empty
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:31:58 +0000 (01:31 +0200)]
Get rid of generated files which are empty

7 years agoImprove check for running_kernel
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:23:42 +0000 (01:23 +0200)]
Improve check for running_kernel

7 years agoUpdate Recommends and package description to reflect current state of script
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:19:39 +0000 (01:19 +0200)]
Update Recommends and package description to reflect current state of script

7 years agoDrop support for ddcprobe which is deprecated since ages
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:19:05 +0000 (01:19 +0200)]
Drop support for ddcprobe which is deprecated since ages

7 years agoList missing tools in file missing_tools
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:18:59 +0000 (01:18 +0200)]
List missing tools in file missing_tools

7 years agoDrop ${shlibs:Depends} from Depends
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:10:16 +0000 (01:10 +0200)]
Drop ${shlibs:Depends} from Depends

7 years agoUse Recommends for all packages instead of Suggests
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:09:38 +0000 (01:09 +0200)]
Use Recommends for all packages instead of Suggests

7 years agoDrop deprecated pcmcia-utils from Suggests
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:06:05 +0000 (01:06 +0200)]
Drop deprecated pcmcia-utils from Suggests

7 years agoApply wrap-and-sort on Debian package
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:05:34 +0000 (01:05 +0200)]
Apply wrap-and-sort on Debian package

7 years agoBump Standards-Version to 3.9.3
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:03:09 +0000 (01:03 +0200)]
Bump Standards-Version to 3.9.3

7 years agoAdd support for swapon, mdadm, LVM + dmsetup
Michael Prokop [Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:02:18 +0000 (01:02 +0200)]
Add support for swapon, mdadm, LVM + dmsetup

While ad it make the script use bash in shebang to avoid failing bashism.

7 years agoRelease new version 0.5.0 v0.5.0
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 23:04:21 +0000 (00:04 +0100)]
Release new version 0.5.0

7 years agoDrop deprecated Conflicts with grml-scripts <= 0.4-15
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 23:03:21 +0000 (00:03 +0100)]
Drop deprecated Conflicts with grml-scripts <= 0.4-15

7 years agodebian/rules: provide build-arch+ build-indep
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 23:02:06 +0000 (00:02 +0100)]
debian/rules: provide build-arch+ build-indep

Make lintian happy...

7 years agoAdjust version string of script during package build-time
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 22:57:27 +0000 (23:57 +0100)]
Adjust version string of script during package build-time

7 years agoSupport numactl to retrieve NUMA information
Michael Prokop [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 22:53:46 +0000 (23:53 +0100)]
Support numactl to retrieve NUMA information

7 years agoRelease new version 0.4.3 v0.4.3
Michael Prokop [Sat, 26 Nov 2011 18:50:21 +0000 (19:50 +0100)]
Release new version 0.4.3

7 years agodrop .hgtags file
Michael Prokop [Wed, 12 Oct 2011 17:25:47 +0000 (19:25 +0200)]
drop .hgtags file

8 years agoAdd debian/control headers Origin, Bugs
Christian Hofstaedtler [Wed, 27 Jul 2011 19:30:29 +0000 (21:30 +0200)]
Add debian/control headers Origin, Bugs

8 years agoRelease new version 0.4.2. v0.4.2
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 9 May 2011 21:51:51 +0000 (23:51 +0200)]
Release new version 0.4.2.

8 years agoUpdate Suggests: list
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 9 May 2011 21:51:23 +0000 (23:51 +0200)]
Update Suggests: list

8 years agoUpdate Standards-Version to 3.9.2 (no changes)
Christian Hofstaedtler [Mon, 9 May 2011 21:44:17 +0000 (23:44 +0200)]
Update Standards-Version to 3.9.2 (no changes)

8 years agorun all commands with C locale
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 23:21:25 +0000 (01:21 +0200)]
run all commands with C locale

8 years agoupdate man page with new options
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 23:12:45 +0000 (01:12 +0200)]
update man page with new options

8 years agocleanup output and help text
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 23:06:49 +0000 (01:06 +0200)]
cleanup output and help text

8 years agosimplify output file/directory logic
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 23:02:22 +0000 (01:02 +0200)]
simplify output file/directory logic

The output directory now doubles as our temporary working directory, if the
user didn't request an output directory.

8 years agocorrect help text for the 'both' option
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 21:48:30 +0000 (23:48 +0200)]
correct help text for the 'both' option

8 years agouse empty/nonempty for flag variables
Christian Hofstaedtler [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 21:45:31 +0000 (23:45 +0200)]
use empty/nonempty for flag variables